Wednesday, 6 June 2012

CILIP Carnegie Medal 2012: Shortlist

The winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal for 2012 will be announced this month (June).  The eight short-listed books are:
  • My Name is Mina, by David Almond
  • Small Change for Stuart by Lissa Evans
  • The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett
  • Everybody Jam by Ali Lewis
  • Trash by Andy Mulligan
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher
  • Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Depetys
The list contains some familiar names: A Monster Calls won the 2011 Galaxy Book Awards, while My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece was shortlisted for the same prize.  Readers of this blog will know that our group reviewed My Name is Mina at our meeting in February 2012: we felt it was a less satisfying book than Almond's earlier prize-winning offering, Skellig.

See Carnegie 2012 Shortlist for details.

No comments:

Post a Comment