Tuesday, 7 June 2011

New Children's Laureate: Julia Donaldson of Gruffalo fame

Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo books, has today been announced as the new Children's Laureate for 2011-12.  Donaldson, 62, the author of more than 120 books including Room on the Broom, Zog, and teenage novel Running on the Cracks, takes over from outgoing laureate Anthony Browne.  Born in London and now living in Glasgow, Donaldson is perhaps best known for The Gruffalo, the story of how a mouse outwits a mythical creature.

She plans to spend much of her laureateship promoting literature through performance. She wants to encourage "10-year-olds to act out stories for younger children". Her biggest challenge, she says, will be the fight against library cutbacks

Previous Children's Laureates

  • Anthony Browne (2009-11)
  • Michael Rosen (2007-09)
  • Jacqueline Wilson (2005-07)
  • Michael Morpurgo (2003-05)
  • Anne Fine (2001-03)
  • Quentin Blake (1999-2001)

No comments:

Post a Comment